Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty Advisory Board

The Diversity and Engagement Faculty Advisory Board advises the division on matters concerning campus climate and initiatives that affect faculty members at UT Knoxville and the UT Institute of Agriculture. It provides consultation and recommendations to promote faculty diversity and inclusion. Members are appointed by the vice chancellor for diversity and engagement.


  • Cristina Barroso
    Associate Professor, Department of Public Health
  • Angela Batey
    Professor, School of Music; Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Stefanie Benjamin
    Assistant Professor, Department of Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management
  • Sherley Cruz
    Assistant Professor, College of Law
  • Sharon Jean-Philippe
    Associate Professor, Department of Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries
  • Thura Mack
    Professor and Coordinator of Community Learning Services and Diversity Programs, University Libraries
  • Bonnie Ownley
    Professor and Graduate Director, Department of Entomology and Plant Pathology
  • Amadou Sall
    Senior Lecturer and Vice Chair, Africana Studies Program
  • Jon Shefner
    Professor and Head, Department of Sociology
  • Valorie Vojdik
    Waller Lansden Distinguished Professor of Law, College of Law
  • Steven Waller
    Professor and Associate Department Head, Department of Kinesiology, Recreation, and Sport Studies
  • Deb Welsh
    Professor and Head, Department of Psychology
  • Brandon Winford
    Associate Professor, Department of History