Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Commission for LGBT+ Communities

About Us

The Commission for LGBT+ Communities is a body appointed by the Chancellor to advise on planning, implementation, and evaluation of university programs, policies, and services designed to improve the status of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people on the Knoxville campus. The Commission, in its role as an advocacy group, is committed to the protection and advancement of LGBT+ students, faculty, and staff at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Application for Membership

This dynamic group works to advance the lives of LGBT students, staff, and faculty on UTK’s campus. We invite you to submit an application next year for a seat at that table. Time commitment is flexible- we meet once a month with the large group and once a month with our committees. Contact Sarah Browning if you have any questions:

2023 Membership Application Open

Follow this link to apply. Deadline May 15

2022-2023 Subcommittees

Communications and Alumni

Provides a voice and face for the commission on campus and for alumni.
Chair: Kimani Beckford

  • Alexis Bishop
  • Amy Gregory
  • Mitsunori Misawa
  • Jordan Prewitt

Equity and Climate

Investigates LGBT+ social, policy, and procedural issues; promotes new LGBT+ research.

  • Jeremy Mobley
  • Leia K. Cain


  • Jasmine M. Aguirre
  • Tom Cervone
  • Ciara Gazaway
  • Judi Gibbons
  • Jose Lee-Perez
  • Kat Powell
  • Titian Williamson

Membership and Awards

Recruits applicants, facilitates application processes, handles annual leadership nominations and elections along with nominations and voting for Chancellor’s Honors awards.
Chair: Stephanie Langley


  • Sam Bishop
  • Ashlyn Bryant
  • Chih-Long Hu
  • David Jackson
  • Kelley Kain
  • Tamar Shirinian

Transgender and Non-Binary

Advocates for and supports the needs of transgender and non-binary students, faculty, and staff across campus.
Chair: Amber Talbert


  • Samantha Childress
  • Casey M. Darby
  • Heather Hall
  • Katy Malone
  • Tammy Renalds

Co-chair: Ronda Wright, Senior Advisor & Adjunct Assistant Professor, College of Architecture and Design

Co-chair: Kirsten A. Gonzalez, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology


View the award guidelines and apply.


View resources.

Stay Informed

If you would like to join our email list to learn more about the upcoming events and announcements, please fill out the CFLGBT+ interest form.

Affiliation with the University(Required)

Are you interested in serving on the LGBT+ committee?(Required)

Give to Diversity